Delhi Electricity Board

Delhi Vidyut Board

The Delhi Vidyut Board was formed by the Government of NCT Delhi in 1997 for the purpose of generation and distribution of power to the entire area of NCT of Delhi except the areas falling within the jurisdiction of NDMC and Delhi Cantonment Board. On July 1, 2002,The Delhi Vidyut Board (DVB) was unbundled into six successor companies:

  • Delhi Power Supply Company Limited (DPCL)- Holding Company;
  • Delhi Transco Limited (DTL) – TRANSCO;
  • Indraprastha Power Generation Company Limited (IPGCL) – GENCO;
  • BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL) – DISCOM;
  • BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL) – DISCOM;
  • North Delhi Power Limited (NDPL) – DISCOM.

Indraprastha Power Generation Company Limited (IPGCL) – GENCO

Indraprastha Power Generation Co. Ltd. came into existence on 1st July, 2002 after unbundling of Delhi Vidyut Board into six entities. The main function of IPGCL is generation of electricity with an installed capacity of 994.5 MW and 3000 MW capacity addition in pipeline.

Installed Capacity



247.5 MW coal based power station was installed and commisioned in 1968. While according to the environmental clearance by Ministry of environment and Forest (MOEF) to the Pragati Power Project, they imposed a condition that I.P. Station should be decommissioned with six months from the date of commissioning of Pragati Power Project.

However, Considering the fastrise of power requirement of Delhi. DPCC has now allowed to run I.P. Station units subject to maintaining stack emission below 50 mg/NM3 and zero discharge from ash ponds for which action has been initiated.


It has installed capacity of 2×67.5=135 MW. Both the units are performing well. Additional ESPs are being fitted to bring down the SPM level from 150 mg/NM3 to 50 mg/NM3.


It has installed capacity of 282 MW. Due to gas restriction only 4 gas turbines and 2 steam turbines are generally in operation. Two gas turbines alongwith one steam turbine are kept on liquid fuel to meet any emergency.



a) Gas Turbines 2×104 MW (open cycle)
b) Steam Turbine of 1x122MW (combined cycle)

Delhi Transco Limited(DTL)   (TRANSCO)

The role of Delhi Transco Limited is confined to arrange and provide transmission network of 400 KV and 220 KV source from Northern Grig.  The present infrastructure for this purpose under 400 KV system is 4,725 MVA (2520 MVA with DTL and 2205 with Power Grid Corporation).  As against this, 220 KV sub Stations have the capacity of 6,300 MVA is available for Delhi.

Delhi Transco Limited is the State Transmission Utility of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. It is responsible for transmission of power at 220KV and 400KV level, besides upgradation operation and maintenance of EHV Network as per system requirements.

State Load Despatch Center (SLDC)    (TRANSCO)

After the enactment of Electricity Act 2003, a new department under the name and style of State Load Despatch Center (SLDC) under Delhi Transco Limited was created, as an Apex body to ensure integrated operation of the power system in Delhi. SLDC Delhi started its function on the First of January 2004. SLDC is responsible for the real time Load Despatch function, O&M of SCADA System and Energy Accounting.

BSES in Delhi  (DISCO)
Following the privitisation of Delhi’s power sector and unbundling of the Delhi Vidyut Board in July 2002, the business of power distribution was transferred to BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL) and BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL). These two of the three successor entities distribute electricity to 26.32 lakh customers in two thirds of Delhi. The Company acquired assets, liabilities, proceedings and personnel of the Delhi Vidyut Board as per the terms and conditions contained in the Transfer Scheme
BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL)
BYPL distributes power to an area spread over 200 sq kms with a population density of 5526 per sq km. It’s 11.5lakh customers are spread over 14 districts across Central and East areas including Chandni Chowk, Daryaganj, Paharganj, Shankar Road, Patel Nagar, G T Road, Karkardooma, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar, Mayur Vihar, Yamuna Vihar, Nand Nagri and Karawal Nagar.
BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL)
BRPL distributes power to an area spread over 750 sq. km with a population density of 2037 per sq km. Its’ over 15.27 lakh customers are spread in 19 districts across South and West areas including Alaknanda, Khanpur, Vasant Kunj, Saket, Nehru Place, Nizamuddin, Sarita Vihar, Hauz Khas, R K Puram, Janakpuri, Najafgargh, Nangloi, Mundka, Punjabi Bagh, Tagore Garden, Vikas Puri, Palam and Dwarka.

Since taking over distribution, BSES’ singular mission has been to provide reliable and quality electricity supply. BSES has invested over Rs 3500 crore on upgrading and augmenting the infrastructure which has resulted in a record reduction of AT&C losses. From a high of 63.1 % AT&C losses in BYPL area in 2002 the losses have come down to 23% a record reduction around 40%.

North Delhi Power Limited(NDPL)   (DISCO)

It’s a TATA Power & Delhi Government joint venture

Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission(DERC)  (Regulatory Commission)

The Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission was constituted by Govt. of NCT of Delhi vide Notification No.F.11(28)/98-EB/341 dt. 3-3-99 for discharge of the following functions :

to determine the tariff for electricity, wholesale bulk, grid or retail, as the case maybe, in the manner provided in section 29 of the Electricity Regulatory Commission Act, 1998;
to determine the tariff payable for the use of the transmission facilities in the manner provided in section 29 of the Electricity Regulatory Commission Act, 1998;
to regulate power purchase and procurement process of the transmission utilities and distribution utilities including the price at which the power shall be procured from the generating companies, generating stations or from other sources for transmission, sale, distribution and supply in the National Capital Territory of Delhi.
to promote competition, efficiency and economy in the activities of the electricity industry to achieve the objects and purposes of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission Act, 1998.

Subsequently the Govt. of NCT of Delhi notified the Delhi Electricity Reform Act 2000 deemed to be inforce from 3rd day of November 2000.



Executive at India Electron Exchange

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Regine Mceachin says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome. Excellent Blog!


    Hello sir good morning and iti fitter fresher in palamu jharkhand ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *