Goa Electricity Board

Goa Electricity Department(Disco; Transco)

The Electricity Department was created as a Govt. Department in the year 1963. The Electricity Department is the only licensee in the state of Goa for transmission and distribution of Electrical Energy. The Department does not have its own generation and purchases power from the Central Sector Power Stations of the National Thermal Power Corporation as per the allocation made by the Central Government. The Total allocation of power from the NTPC is 332 Mw. Besides this, the department also purchases power of 16 Mw from Reliance Industries Ltd., Sancoale. There are no direct link lines between the generating station of NTPC and Goa and hence the NTPC power is availed through the Grids of the neighboring State of Maharashtra and Karnataka.

The Electricity Department pays wheeling charges to Maharashtra State Electricity Board and KPTCC for using their line network for transmission of power from NTPC generating stations to Goa. The power from the Western region is wheeled from the MSEBS 400 KV Sub-Station at Kolhapur to the 400 KV Sub-Station at Colvale in Goa. From here the power is transmitted at 220kV level to Ponda and Tivim substations of the Department. From the Southern region power is transmitted from Nagjhari to Ponda. The Department has adopted Voltages of 220KV, 110KV and 33KV for sub transmission and 11KV and 440 volts for distribution purpose. The Department has adopted overhead line system for transmission and distribution except for Panaji town where part of the area is covered by underground system.

The remaining parts of Panaji and Margao town are now being provided with underground network. All the towns and villages of Goa are electrified and any intending consumer can avail power supply by submitting requisition in the prescribed form to the appropriate office of the Department subject to fulfilling the required conditions and payment of charges as per conditions of supply of Electrical Energy and miscellaneous charges. The power supply to the new consumers is released on single phase, 230 Volts for connected load up to 3KW and on three phase, 400 volts for connected loads above 3KW but less than 70 KVA/HP connected for a single consumer. The power supply for connected loads / contract demands above 70 KVA but less than 100KVA is released at a voltage of 11KV and above 1000KVA the same is released at 33KV voltage. The Chief Electrical Engineer, has however discretionary powers to release power supply at other voltages irrespective of connected load.

Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission

(for the state of Goa & Union Territories)

To consolidate the laws relating to generation, transmission, distribution, trading and use of electricity and generally for taking measures conducive to development of electricity industry, promoting completion therein, protecting interest of consumers and supply of electricity to all areas, rationalization of electricity tariff, ensuring transparent policies regarding subsidies, promotion of efficient and environmentally benign policies, constitution of Central Electricity Authority, Regulatory Commissions and establishment of Appellate Tribunal and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, The Electricity Act 2003 was enacted by Government of India.

In exercise of the powers conferred by the Electricity Act 2003 the Central Government constituted a Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for all Union Territories except Delhi to be known as “ Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for Union Territories” as notified on 2 nd May 2005. Later with the joining of the state of Goa, the Commission came to be known as “Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for the state of Goa and Union Territories” as notified on 30th May 2008.

The Commission is a two-member body designated to function as an autonomous authority responsible for regulation of the power sector in the state of Goa and Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar, Lakshadweep, Chandigarh, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Puducherry The powers and the functions of the Commission are as prescribed in the Electricity Act 2003. The Head Office of the Commission presently is located in the district town of Gurgaon, Haryana and falls in the National Capital Region.

All proceedings before the Commission are deemed to be judicial proceedings within the meaning of sections 193 and 228 of the Indian Penal Code and the Commission is deemed to be a Civil court for the purposes of sections 345 and 346 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973. The Commission has the power to act as arbitrator or nominate arbitrators to adjudicate and settle disputes arising between licensees.

The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for the state of Goa and Union Territories started to function with effect from August 2008 with the objectives and purposes for which the Commission has been established. Presently the Commission is framing various regulations as mandated in the Electricity Act 2003 to facilitate its functioning.



Executive at India Electron Exchange

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. avijit mahapatra says:

    i have 9 years experience of power distribution.
    i want to joint the India power

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *