AP Genco, AP Transco, Lanco bag awards from Power Ministry

AP Transco, AP Genco and Lanco Infratech Ltd., have bagged awards from the Central Electricity Authority (CEA), Ministry of Power under various categories for excellent performance.

AP Genco has bagged “Performance of thermal stations award for the year 2009-10” for two units of Kothagudem thermal power station of 250 mw each commissioned in 1997 and 1998 respectively.


These plants registered a high plant load factor of 92.02 per cent and thereby were chosen for meritorious performance.

Mr S. Anjaneya Rao, Director, Thermal of AP Genco, and Mr M. Siddaiah, Chief Engineer at KTPS, received the award from the Power Ministry.


AP Transco secured national award from CEA and was handed over Gold Shied for fastest completion of a transmission project during 2010-20122.

It set up a 400 kv double-circuit line from Kothagudem thermal power station to Khammam in record 17 months as against CEA norms of 24 months.

Mr Dinesh Kumar, Principal Secretary of Energy, Andhra Pradesh, lauded AP Transco efforts.

Mr B. Umashankar, Director – Projects, AP Transco, received the award from Mr Sushil Kumar Shinde, Union Power Minister.


Lanco Infratech Ltd., has announced that its Udipi thermal power plant has been selected by the CEA for Gold Shield for 2010-11 for early completion of thermal power project.

The award was presented by the power minister for its meritorious performance.

The Udipi power Corporation Limited, a special purpose vehicle of Lanco has implemented the 2×600 mw thermal station in Karnataka.

The project uses imported coal and sea water for cooling requirements
source: BL


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *