29 villages in Karnataka continue to be ‘power-less’

Karnataka has pumped in thousands of crores of rupees into the power sector and has been fronting technological innovations with regard to ‘Smart Villages’, but here is the dark reality: 29 villages in the state are yet to get power connections!

A revelation to this effect was made by the state government in the legislative assembly on Friday. Following a question from Belthangady MLA (Congress) K Vasanth Bangera, the government stated while three ‘power-less’ villages are in Shivamogga district, four are in Chamarajnagar district, 17 are in Uttara Kannadadistrict and five villages are in Belagavi district.

Replying on behalf of power minister D K Shivakumar, municipalities and local bodies minister Eshwar Khandre said a majority of these villages have not got power connections because of their location and the logistical constraints involved with regard to installation of power supply lines.


Continue Reading…


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *