Centre orders shutdown of 8 power units; Telangana fights to save old stations

Hyderabad: As many as eight small thermal power plants in the state face closure due to environmental issues. The Centre has asked all states to shut ageing thermal power plants as part of a drive to check carbon emissions.

The Central Electricity Authority has asked TS government to close seven thermal power plants in Kothagudem and one in Ramagundam which were set up 25 years ago.
The TS government has objected, stating that some of these plants were generating power on par with new units and their pollution was within limits.
It told the CEA that the government was renovating and modernising the power plants regularly and had ensured that they complied with norms.

The eight plants in Kothagudem generate 720 MW and the Ramagundam station 62 MW. Their closure would result in a power shortage besides adding to the cost of purchasing power from outside sources.


Continue reading


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *