3,285 inaccessible villages electrified in various States across the country under Decentralized Distributed Generation Scheme: Shri Piyush Goyal

Minister of State (IC) for Power, Coal, New & Renewable Energy and Mines, Shri Piyush Goyal, in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today, informed that as per information provided by the States, 13,872 un-electrified census villages have been reported to be electrified up to 30th June 2017, out of 18,452 un-electrified villages in the country as on 1st April, 2015. The time-frame to electrify all the villages is 1st May 2018, the Minister added.

Shri Goyal also informed that the Decentralized Distributed Generation (DDG) scheme, under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY), has been initiated by the Government to provide access to electricity to un-electrified villages/habitations where grid connectivity is either not feasible or not cost effective including the villages located in backward, remote, inaccessible and forest areas. DDG can be from renewable sources such as biomass, biofuels, biogas, Mini hydro, solar etc. Under the scheme, 4,220 projects have been sanctioned with the total project cost of Rs.1354.60 crore, covering 3,285 un-electrified villages in various States across the country, as on 30.06.2017, the Minister added.

S. No. STATE No. of projects Un-electrified villages covered
1 Andhra Pradesh* 427
2 Assam 521 521
3 Arunachal Pradesh 1,176 1,176
4 Chhattisgarh 946 520
5 Jharkhand 382 393
6 Karnataka 39 9
7 Kerala * 15
8 Madhya Pradesh 147 147
9 Meghalaya 212 212
10 Odisha 276 275
11 Telangana * 39
12 Uttar Pradesh 25 17
13 Uttarakhand 15 15
Total 4,220 3,285

13,872 villages electrified till 30th June 2017.



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *