Tamil Nadu signs MOUs with 4 solar power firms

CHENNAI: The Tamil Nadu government on Tuesday signed memorandums of understanding with four solar power companies, which won contracts for 1500 MW. A total of 16 companies, awarded contracts, will invest Rs 9,000 crore in the coming year at the rate of Rs 6 crore per MW of solar power.

Symbolically, four solar power companies, including the lowest bidder Rasi Green, which quoted Rs 3.47 per unit, now the base price for other companies, signed the MoUs in the presence of chief minister K Palaniswami, chief secretary Girija Vadiyanathan, TNEB chairman M Saikumar and other officials at the secretariat.

These companies had bid for various capacities of solar power for the year 2017-18 and won bids after they agreed to the lowest tariff of Rs 3.47 per unit. The 16 companies, led by Raasi Green, which won the bid at Rs 3.47 per unit, will set up 100MW solar power plant in Ramanathapuram district. NLC will provide 709MW unit and six companies will sell 100MW each. Other companies have been allocated 1 to 54MW.

Continue Reading…


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *