Jammu & Kashmir Electricity Board
September 29th, 2010

Jammu and Kashmir State Power Development Corporation Limited (JKSPDCL)

Power Development in Jammu and a Kashmir has a long and distinguished history. The 2×4.5 MW Mohra Hydro electric plant was developed as early as in 1905. The estimated hydel potential in J&K is more than 20000 MW, of which projects for 16200 MW have already been identified. In order to harness this potential in a sustained manner, the Government of J&K established the Jammu and Kashmir State Power Development Corporation Limited (JKSPDCL) which has been incorporated as a Private Limited company on 16.02.1995. The Corporation was incorporated to takeover, execute, complete, operate and maintain all power stations and power projects of the State. The assets of all the power projects in the State, both existing and under implementation were transferred to the Corporation. The Corporation presently has 19 hydroelectric projects with installed capacity of 754.70MW located in various districts of Jammu & Kashmir including 450MW BHEP, two units of which have been commissioned.  In addition, the Corporation has Gas Turbines based on HSD with installed capacity of 175 MW at Pampore near Srinagar. In accordance with the State Hydel Policy notified by the Power Development Department, Government of Jammu & Kashmir on 09.10.2003, JKSPDC has allotted 10 small HEPs with a total capacity of 107 MWs under IPP phase-I. The corporation is also pursuing the development of the Grid interactive solar PV power in the state in Leh(2.5MW), Kargil(2.5MW),Kathua(5MW) and Kashmir valley (5MW) as well as geothermal project in Pugah valley of Leh, Ladakh.

Baglihar Dam Project

Below is the list of existing projects:

Name of Power House Configuration Installed Capacity in MW
Jhelum River Basin
Lower Jhelum 3 x 35 105
Upper Sindh-I 2×11.3 22.6
Ganderbal 2×3+2×4.5 15
Upper Sindh-II 3×35 105
Pahalgam 2 x 1.5 3
Karnah 2×1 2
Chenab Basin
Chenani-I 5×4.66 23.30
Chennai-II 2×1 2
Chenani-III 3×2.5 7.50
Bhaderwah 2 x 0.5 1
Baglihar 3×150 450(2 Units Commissioned)
Ravi Basin
Sewa-III 3×3 9
Indus Basin
Iqbal 3×1.25 3.75
Hunder 2×0.20 0.40
Sumoor 2×0.05 0.10
Igo-Mercellong 2×1.50 3
Haftal 2×0.50 1
Marpachoo 3×0.25 0.75
Bazgo 2×0.15 0.30
Stakna (with J&KPDD) 2×2 4
Total                                                              758.70
Salal HEP 6×115 690
Uri -I 4×120 480
Dul-Hasti 3×130 390
Total 1560

Below is the list of upcoming project:

Name of Power Project Capacity in MW
Baglihar Stage-II 450
Pahalgam (3rd Unit) 1.50
Matchil 0.35
Baderwah (3rd Unit) 0.5
Sanjak 1.26
Total 453.61
Uri-II 240
Sewa-II 120
Nimo Bazgo 45
Chutak 44
Total 449

Jammu & Kashmir State Electricity Regulatory Commission

The J&K State Electricity Regulatory Commission is a statutory body setup under an act of the State Legislature to regulate power sector in the State of J&K.In pursuance of section 13 of the Jammu & Kashmir State Electricity Regulatory Commission Act 2000,the Jammu & Kashmir State Electricity Regulatory Commission constitute with effect from 1st June 2006 a State Advisory Committee.

One Response to Jammu & Kashmir Electricity Board

  1. akhil says:

    what do the authorities have to say about the frequent power cut. there have been days with no electricity for almost 16 hrs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>



Lost Password


Please contact the administrator.